4/21 bike/Mystery Visit

Uncategorized

I was supposed to go for a bike and swim today, but seeing as how I needed to shave (an hour or so), I only had time for the former, and the latter was pushed off for tomorrow.

I was on the stationary bike for 45 minutes today and I must say that they’re HIGHLY overrated. I just started biking (really biking), and idk how I’m going to be able to make it through the winter if I’m on a trainer. Hello tights!

Anyway, as I’m on the bike, my friend (who shall remain nameless) calls me up but I miss his call, due to the fact that I’m exerting all this energy, and din’t hear the phone buzz (it was in the cupholder). I text him, “I’m in the gym…come down if you need me.”

Sure enough, he comes walking in a few minutes later and pats me on the back. I take off my headphones and tells me those fateful words I was dying not to hear – “I’m not gonna be competing with you. At least not this summer.” He had his own reasons, and I accepted them, but I knew he needed to get something else off his chest, and this simply wouldn’t do it. He says, “Eli,” and just like that we get down to business.

He tells me about how he met a certain ex of mine at this function on Monday night, and I asked him how it was. “I got her number,” came his response. He just wanted to know if it was ok with me. In his own words, he wanted my blessing. I told him that her and I are completely through, but I’m not sure if they would make a perfect match. “No matter,” he assured me. “I’d like to find out for myself.”

And just like that, he was gone.

I guess someone’s gonna be very lucky. Not everyone gets a chance with this guy. Ah well, for the rest of us, there’s always mail order spouses…

Leave a Reply

