5/4 bike

Uncategorized

I set my alarm for 7:30 this morning to wake me up to pray, and I didn’t go to sleep a minute before 2:00 last night, but for some strange reason, I woke up, feeling completely energized, at 6:15. And unlike yesterday, it wasn’t raining!

Ecstatic, I jump out of bed, throw in my contacts, pull on some shorts and a jersey, fill up my water bottle with some powerade, grab my bike and head downstairs. At 6:30 am, I’m already on my bike, Jersey-bound, and surprisingly comfortable on the Selle Italia Gel Flite which has been the cause of so much of my discomfort.

On the bridge, I got aero, and put the pedal to the metal. I was hitting one of those bumps every 3/4 of a second or so, and it’s a little like riding on a trampoline, as I’ve noted before, but it’s only a mile stretch before Hudson Terrace, which is, in comparison, like riding rollerblades in an indoor rubber-floored gym.

Powering down Hudson Terrace, some roadie passes me, apparently going too fast, because just as he passes me, he immediately slows down – forcing me out of aero to yank my brakes, but I don’t pass him for fear of getting clipped on the way. Then the downhill part. He shifts into a higer gear and mashes the whole way down, while I sit there, perched precariously on the edge of my saddle, afraid to wipe out on any little gravel deposit – as I have been, ever since the incident with Yitzy flying over his BMX bars.

I make it to Englewood in 25 minutes, and decide I should go back so I could catch the services at 8 – it’s 7 now. I turn around, and make it back in 20 minutes – I guess the way back doesn’t only FEEL shorter.

Protein shake, everything bagel, no spread, half a dunkin’ donut, a softee donut, and a slice of pound cake. I know, I know, but it’s election day at the University, and everyone’s in the spirit of campaigning! I just couldn’t resist!

Leave a Reply

