5/26 Bike/Run Brick

Cycling

“I find it difficult to fully appreciate the sport of biking”

That’s the thought that kept playing over and over in my mind like a broken record for the past few years. I had the optimistic outlook that biking didn’t stink out loud, I just wasn’t able, for whatever reason, to find the true joy in the sport of cycling. Today, on the way back down the steep descent of Palisade Avenue through Englewood, NJ, on the way back from 9W, I found it in the form of gales of wind blowing straight back over my extremely aerodynamic head, back, and well, body overall.

I first biked to Votee park in the scorching Nor’ Eastern sunlight, in 105*+- (according to the the thermometer on my polar Heart Rate Monitor) and circled the park once. I thought all I would do was bike over there, a mile and a half or so, then bike around the park a bunch of times until I hit the 8 or 9 mile mark, and bike home. But it was too boring. So I tore away from my initial plan, and biked back up to Englewood, turning around @ 9W. The whole journey? 11 miles in 53 minutes. An average speed or 12.5 MPH with a top speed of 33.4 MPH. I averaged a 4.8 minute mile.

Upon my return home, I guzzled down some Powerade, and then decided I wasn’t so tired. So I went out for a run. A 4 mile run, which consisted of average Heart Rates 93% of my maximum exertion level. Boy was it hot. After 2.5 miles, I said to myself, “myself, you can either walk from here, or you can run. It’s your choice. You already biked pretty far for this weather, no one’s gonna lose respect for you now.” So that’s exactly what I did. I would run until my HR broke 185 (93%), then walk until I got it back down to 155 or so (77%). The climb up Sussex was pretty hot, but I did what I had to do.

I ran 4 miles in 35 minutes, averaging a pace of 8 minutes and 45 seconds. Slow? Not in today’s heat.

Leave a Reply

