Mossman Park City Olympic Tri 8/15

Cycling

I have recently returned from my second Olympic-distance triathlon of the season and, for that matter, ever, following only the NYC TRI. It took place in Bridgeport, Connecticut, and was staffed by the incredibly friendly members of Team Mossman.

After waking at 3:30 (already a ritual at this point…), I drove over to Yehudah’s (dear uncle and photographer for my triathletic events) and picked him up. All I had in my stomach was a piece of whole weat bread and some jam, but with my cold gatorade in the cup-holder next to me, we were good to go.

Upon arrival, we picked up my packet and I received the body markings. Much to my delight, I was given the number 18, which. in hebrew, is mathematically equivalent to the word “chai”, or life. I knew this was going to be a good race. Right leg = age, left leg = race number.

Photobucket

I was given the rare opportunity to put on my phylacteries and speak to the Lord with the rising sun. It was truly a breathtaking sunrise, in my very humble opinion.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

After services were held in the picnic-bench area, we made our way over to transition, where I realized I could do with a little air. So that’s what I did. I pumped up my tires.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

After the body glide went on nice and smooth, it was time for the swim. Everyone was out of transition at 6:50 and given ten minutes to make their way down to the swim start.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

The members of Team Mossman provided aquatic assistance from their paddle-boards and kayaks. I felt über safe.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

The swim was .9 mile out and back, and considering my hydrability (is that a word?), my ability in the water, I’m very happy with my swim split. I swam the entire course in 28:49. Just 6 minutes slower than the NYC Triathlon, but with much less of a current, and in some places, no current at all.

Out of the water and off to T1, there was a slight jog on the beach, but nothing too major. T1 time was 1:21. Slow, but not TOO slow.

Photobucket

We were just having a good time 🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

And out onto the ride!
Photobucket

Taken from the race’s ebsite, the bike ride was a 25 mile Olympic distance bike route and was 5 loops of 5 miles each – flat and very fast in the park area. Indeed, it was very fast. I posted a 1:16:10, 4 entire minutes faster than NYC’s ride, which I would attribute to the rollers in the NYC ride. I only brought a road bike to this race, and not my traditional tri bike. As a result, I found myself trying to get as low as possible as often as possible. In the drops and hanging over the handlebars proved to be the two most aerodynamic positions for me. Yehudah placed himself in a strategically sound position and managed to get over 150 shots of me on the ride. Here’s what I weeded out:

Photobucket

It may be me, but can I actually get lower on my road bike than on my tri bike?

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I’m ready for my close up!
Photobucket

My dear friend and teammate David Roher competed alongside me, as did Rochie Schwartz and one other teammate, who’s name I don’t quite remember. Anyway, my uncle took some pictures of David, just because of those funny Jew strings he had dangling 😉

Photobucket
Photobucket

Trying to get low…
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I’m not sure who this rider was, nor what bike she was riding, but she looked really cool and she was really fast:

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Finally managed to master the taking-the-foot-out-of-the-shoe-before-transition move.

Photobucket

I averaged a bike split of 19.75 MPH, which was my highest yet, in any event. Sweet.
Off the bike and into T2, I earned a time of 48 seconds. Fast for me. Victory!

The run course was a scenic path along the beach and for me, it was a little off. I felt fast right out of transition, and powered through the first mile or so. Then I felt tired. So I slowed down. I probably should have paced myself a little better, in retrospect. The first 3.1 mile loop was completed in 23:54, just a tad faster than the second loop. That was a sub 8-minute mile, but just barely. I hammered through the second loop in 22:46. A 7:35. My average speed for the 6.2 mile course was 7:31 – a run split of 46:40. Very fast for me.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Here, I appear to have taken on some orange deformity…
Photobucket

I broke through two runners at this point, right after the first loop, which surged me onwards with fresh adrenaline for the next little while.

Photobucket

He didn’t seem too happy about the ordeal:
Photobucket
Photobucket

At the finish line, I managed to run fast enough to pass two different runners in the finishing chute, but about 5 feet away from the finish line, I slowed down and raised my hands in victory as I heard my name being called out. And I was re-dropped. But we had a lot of fun.

Photobucket

Too-early celebration:
Photobucket

I realized what I had done:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Race volunteer: Who won?
Me: He did.
RV: Oh man!
Me: It’s ok, I killed that race!

Photobucket

Some candids:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I met teammate Allen Purvin’s coach, Steven, who was filled with a wealth of knowledge and information. It was difficult to end that conversation! Sorry you were cut off in the picture:
Photobucket

And the splits…
Photobucket

Total time and new personal record: 2:33:47.

I placed 11th in my age group, and 137th overall. I’m very happy with that result.

I had an incredible time and was very pleased with my results. After coming down plantar fasciitis two weeks ago, I was unsure if I would be able to run the run, or would be forced to walk part of it. With God’s help, I healed very nicely, and put down a very fast split, for me.

Everyone was very friendly, the gatorade tasted delicious, and the gu was flowing in abundancy, so thanks for that, Team Mossman volunteers. I’ll definitely be back next year for round 2!

2 thoughts on “Mossman Park City Olympic Tri 8/15

Leave a Reply

