Back and forth, back and forth

Cycling

Back and forth, back and forth, my useless left leg swings.
Supported by my hands and foot, I make my way
across the street. Class started two minutes ago,
but the swelling that calls itself my ankle has no concern.

Back and forth, back and forth, my weight is flung through the air.
On two stilts I prop myself beneath my armpits, hoping I don’t catch
a crack or some unevenness in the concrete beneath me.
For if I tripped the lump above my foot would offer no mercy.

Back and forth, back and forth, I’m a pawn in this dangerous game.
Hoping not to lose my balance sending shock waves
to my brain. Crying out beneath the weight of an athlete
in his prime. Bite my bottom lip, trap the scream, it’s all I could do.

Back and forth, back and forth, when will this vertigo cease?
Give up my crutches and shuffle forth or continue to  subject
myself to the pain. My hands are on fire, sweat pours forth
from my left Popliteal Fossa. But it’s all I know. At least for now.

One thought on “Back and forth, back and forth

Leave a Reply

