The Trainer’s Donut of Betrayal

Cycling

She begs. Sit with me now. Hear me out.

Her face a swollen mess. I never meant it

To hurt, she bawls. But doesn’t it always?

I wipe a tear from her rosy cheek, take the

Wooden chair opposite her.

 

We sit in her kitchen, walls bleed blue.

Mom and dad smile down from behind her.

A brother, just reprimanded. He scowls at

The glazed doughy ring between us. It glares

At me, the Donut of Betrayal.

 

She speaks. I hear no words.She cries.

I feel no sorrow. A cheating client?

No client at all. I kept the weight on cause I

Like your butt! I caught that last part.

I smile and leave.

Leave a Reply

